6th Material Science School for Young Scientist (KINKEN-WAKATE 2009)

Toshikazu Akahori

Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University

Period of school 2009. 12. 3-2009. 12. 4

The purposes of KINKEN-WAKATE 2009 are (i) presentation of the latest results and discussion of integration studies in advanced bio- and nano-material science among not only young Japanese scientists but also

young scientists from several foreign countries, who have a large variety of academic backgrounds, (ii) lectures of advanced bio- and nano-material science by novel experimental techniques, and (iii) creation of strong bond among all participants through the short stay for merging different research fields and creating some future collaborated works.

KINKEN-WAKATE 2009, which has begun from 2004, was held at Akiu-spa in Sendai for providing an opportunity for wide information exchange by all attendants more than 60 of COE fellows



and RA, which have been specialized in different research fields of advanced materials, and fostering the discussion along with invited profound lecturers. The lecturers, Prof. Niinomi (IMR), Prof. Morinaga (Nagoya Univ.), Prof. Chiba (IMR), and Prof. Vargas (National Polytechnic Inst.), gave them their profound speeches with advanced results of which the titles were "Bone

functionalization of titanium based materials", "Electronic approach to alloy design", "Grain refinement of biomedical Co-Cr-Mo alloy with and without hot-deformation", and "Catalytically active materials prepared by CVD" according to the subtitle of "Bio- and nano-materials for next generation". The discussion



was enthusiastic not only in their lectures but also in poster presentation of all attendants in which ten of them were received the best presentation awards from the chair of this school, Prof. Goto (Leader of GCOE); the winners were R. Kataoka, R. Murao, Y. Mitsui, D. Ando, S. Mineta, T. Ogawa, and N. Tang in the student category, and L. Bai, M. Matsuo, and Y. Zeng in the fellow category.

We do appreciate all participants for a great success of this school and would like to last it as long as possible for raising a lot of young scientists for next generation.

The organizing committee members were Prof. Goto (Chair person of this school and leader of GCOE), Dr. Akahori, Dr. Kato, Dr. Matsumoto, Dr. Li, and GCOE office.

