HOMEMembers > Steering Committee

Steering Committee

Prof. Shin-ichi ORIMO

Contact Details

Please change "_at_" in the email address by "@"

Work Experience

  • 2013 PI, WPI Advanced Institute for Materials Research
  • 2012 Special Advisor to the University President
  • 2012 Deputy, Research Center of Neutron Science for Advanced Materials
  • 2010 Deputy, Research Center of Low-Carbon Society
  • 2009 Professor, Head of the Section for Hydrogen Functional Materials
  • 2002 Associate Professor, Institute for Materials Research,Tohoku University
  • 1995-2002 Research Associate, Hiroshima University
    (1998-1999 Guest Researcher,Max-Planck Institute for Metal Research,as Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and Japanese Ministry of Education Fellows)
  • 1993-1995 Research Fellow, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science(JSPS)


  • 1995 Ph. D., Faculty of Integrated Arts and Sciences, Hiroshima University


  • 2012 Prize for Science and Technology(Research Category),
    The Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister, MEXT
  • 2011 Metals Meritorious Award, The Japanese Institute of Metals
  • 2011 Funding Program for Next Generation World-Leading Researchers
    (Cabinet Office, Council for Science and Technology Policy, JSPS)
  • 2011 Best Scientific Paper Award, Japan Copper and Brass Association
  • 2008 Technical Development Award, The Japanese Institute of Metals
  • 2004 Murakami Memorial Encouraged Research Award
  • 2004 Intelligent Cosmos Prize, Intelligent Cosmos Foundation
  • 2003 Promoted Research Award, Japan Magnesium Association
  • 2002 Research Award, Materials Science Foundation
  • 1998 Best Young Researcher Award, The Japanese Institute of Metals
  • 1997 Best Scientific Paper Award, The Japanese Institute of Metals

Curricula Vitae [PDF(128KB)]


Return to TOP of this page

No.1 Building Room 309, Katahira 2-1-1, Aoba-ku, Sendai, 980-8577, Japan
TEL&FAX: 81-22-215-2019  / E-mail: icc-imr_at_imr.tohoku.ac.jp
Please change "_at_" in the email address by "@"

All Rights Reserved, Copyrights© 2013, Institute for Materials Research